Thursday, 8 March 2012

Triple Crown Win for Wales!

Cymru Crown

Wales' national rugby team have done it! Thanks to their spectacular performance in the RBS Six Nations Rugby Championship, the Welsh team are revelling in their success so far, and a week and a half ago they lifted the Triple Crown trophy after their 12-19 win against England.

The Triple Crown is awarded to the team that defeats the three other home nation teams in the Six Nations Competition - in Wales' case they beat Ireland, Scotland and England.

Despite the crown being first awarded to England in 1883 (although the phrase triple crown wasn't used then) in what was the first Home Nations Championship, traditionally there was no actual trophy awarded for this prize. Six years ago the competition sponsors RBS commissioned a trophy and was first awarded in the 2006 Championship.

image by blackcat on wiki commons

The Triple Crown has been won 63 times since 1883, and England have won it the most times - 23, with Wales following closely behind - this was their 20th win.

Wales' next match is on the 10th March - at home against Italy. All fingers and toes are crossed to make this another win for Wales, who'll be another step closer to winning the Championship!

And don't forget that during every Wales match, there'll be free grub at the Oakeley - some delicious home-made chilli or curry! So come and join us to cheer on the team! See you soon

picture by ezioman on wiki commons

No comments:

Post a Comment